Hello and welcome to the website of Canadian/American Composer and Pianist, Jared Miller! Come here for all of the latest info on upcoming events, news and to listen to some of Jared’s latest compositions!


CBC’s 30 under 30- Miller was recently listed as one of CBC’s 30 classical musicians under the age of 30! Check out the whole list here: http://music.cbc.ca/#!/genres/Classical/blogs/2015/8/30-hot-Canadian-classical-musicians-under-30-2015-edition

SOCAN Award for Young Composers- Miller has won a Young Composers Award for his solo piano piece “Retour aux sources- Grand-Pré” from the SOCAN Foundation. The piece was commissioned and premiered by Pierre-André Doucet in the 2013/14 season.

Review- Bloom, for mixed flute choir and solo cello: The Calgary Herald recently wrote a review of Miller’s newest composition, which was premiered at the Banff Center in July 2015. Check it out here!: http://calgaryherald.com/entertainment/music/memories-of-banff-ransom-wilson-colin-carr-perform-musics-secretive-inner-worlds

Miller named one of the emerging composers in residence at the Banff Center for Summer 2015!: As part of this residency, Jared will compose a new piece for chamber ensemble, which will be rehearsed and performed in July. He will also receive mentorship from world-renowned composers Frederic Rzewski and John Luther Adams.

Miller’s Contrasted Perspectives featured in the New York Philharmonic’s Biennial: Miller’s latest orchestral piece, Contrasted Perspectives has been selected out of over 400 scores to be workshopped by the American Composers Orchestra as part of the New York Phil’s 2014 Biennial. More information can be found here: http://www.americancomposers.org/uncategorized/2014/04/23/jared-miller/

Jared Miller is appointed composer-in-residence for the Victoria Symphony in British Columbia, Canada!: His tenure will begin in the 2014/2015 concert season during which he will write new works for the orchestra, teach in the Symphony’s educational initiatives and curate their annual new music festival. More information can be found here: http://victoriasymphony.ca/2014/04/14/victoria-symphony-announces-new-composer-in-residence/

2013/2014 Season is announced! Catch a concert with Jared Miller’s music as it comes to a city near you! Season highlights include world premieres by pianists David Aladashvili, Pierre-Andre Doucet and Corey Hamm and erhuist Nicole Le Gu as well as performances by the Toronto Symphony Orchestra and pianist Ang Li. Please click on the “Schedule” page for more information!

Featured Composer in the Knigge Competition: Miller’s “Souvenirs d’Europe” is chosen as the required work in the Knigge National Piano Competition of Canada! As the required work, all eight of the finalists will have to play it in the final recital round of the competition in Vancouver on March 2, 2013 and there will be a cash award given to what the jury deems as the finest interpretation. For more information, please visit the competition website:


2012/2013 Season Highlights: Miller’s 2012/2013 Season is announced! Commissions include a chamber work for the New York City Ballet’s Choreographic Institute in collaboration with choreographer Attila Bongar and a work for mixed chamber ensemble for Latitude 49: a hot new group based out of Ann Arbor, MI. Further performances include the North American Premiere of Miller’s String Quartet “Within the Walls,” Chinese-Canadian pianist Ang Li touring North America with Miller’s Souvenirs d’Europe and performances by the Toronto Symphony Orchestra and the Vancouver Youth Symphony Orchestra. For more information, please check out the Calendar page on this website!

ASCAP Morton Gould Award: Jared Miller wins a 2012 ASCAP Morton Gould Young Composers Award for his piano piece “Souvenirs d’Europe!” The work was commissioned by Chinese-Canadian pianist Ang Li and was premiered at Carnegie Hall in December of 2011. Miller’s score was chosen out of nearly 700 entries in this American national competition.

Juilliard Orchestra Composition Competition: Jared Miller is one of four winners of the 2011/2012 Juilliard Orchestra Composition Competition! His new orchestral piece, “Cartoon Music” was selected along with three of his colleagues to be performed by the Juilliard Orchestra under Jeffrey Milarsky in February of 2012.

Review of “Souvenirs d’Europe” Premiere: Sequenza 21 New Music blog reviews the premiere performance of Miller’s “Souvenirs d’Europe” at Carnegie Hall. Check out the review!: http://www.sequenza21.com/2011/12/ang-li-presents-2-premieres-alongside-lots-of-liszt/

One Response to Welcome

  1. loretta Biffard says:

    wwwonderful conversation with Cheryl McKay very talented pianist

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s